Basics: The importance of shoes

Dior couture, couture, Paris, fashion, style, black, red, shoes, France, street style, fall 2015
Capture the heart with shoes

If you know me, there’s no denying it–I love shoes. People have rainy day funds; I have a shoe fund. When I decide to reorganize my shoes, you can find me exclaiming “I don’t need another pair of shoes! If I want another pair, talk me out of them!” But pretty soon, when those sales role around, and those beautiful soles are dangled in front of me… I find a “need” for them. I don’t have a ___ pair. I can wear these to ___. Oh they’re such a steal! They’ll become collectible! You name it, I’ve said it.

But what is it about shoes that make those luxurious ones so desirable?

  1. They can make or break an outfit. (…pssst… like in the photo above!!!)
  2. The smell… Especially if they’re made of high quality leather, which most high quality interiors are.
  3. When people know fashion, prepare for, “Oh, those shoes are gorgeous! ____ (designer)’s are my favorite!”
  4. Some are iconic–queue Manolo Hangisis (thanks, Carrie Bradshaw), the red soles (oh, Monsieur Louboutin), YSL’s Tribute sandals (Yves, you devil) and more.
  5. If you gain/lose a few pounds, they’re still your best friends. What more is there to say?

Shoes are an important, if not the most important part of an outfit. My grandmother always reminded me that you can tell a lot about a person from their shoes, and I’ve found that to be incredibly true. Additionally, great shoes can be comfortable and they can last forever if you take care of them, so I advise you to invest. Men take an interest in shoes, especially heels–they enhance and lift the butt (hello, non-surgical Brazillian butt lift). Women take an interest in shoes as well, a man in great shoes–phew! I’ll let you take me to dinner!

Tip: When you buy great shoes, take care of them. Store them in their shoe bags. Men, get a nice pair of shoe trees to maintain shape. Immediately wipe salt off shoes during winter. Get them polished, it’s like a drink of water for your shoes, keep them hydrated!

Let’s look at this photo and see why it succeeds. The look is oh so simple because of minimal makeup and a high bun. That dress? Wow. So risqué, yet so classy. Just enough material to make the mind wander and fashionistas crave. Metal belt? One word: SHINY. The bag? Drool. Shoes? Pointed toe perfection. The best part? Even though the shoes are bright metallic red, the shoes blend into the look. For this look, you can thank the creative director of Dior, Raf Simons, a Belgian fashion genius who blends old Dior with modern day. (Since Raf joined Dior, Dior has become the go-to fashion house for my tastes)

Tip: Heels (especially stilettos) can be uncomfortable after a while, take a pair of flats in your bag.

Want to score a pair of great shoes for a great price? Or perhaps want to recreate this look? Look no further than Dose.nyc! Our members-only flash sales are sure to impress your wallet, and it’s free to sign up. So sign up today, and don’t miss a great sale!

Photo source: Style.com

Leave a comment