How to: Travel fashion

grey, gray, fashion, style, copenhagen, denmark, danish fashion, womens fashion, womens style, travel style, travel fashion, vogue, fall 2015, spring 2015,  fall fashion
Blend in with the natives

As you can tell, I love European cities–their charm, fashion, food, and history are so fascinating to me.  I am a seasoned traveler, though I have made some fashion mistakes *gasp* along the way–shorts (especially athletic shorts) are so not en vogue. In preparation for my next travel, I will be making a few adjustments to my travel regimen; I’ll be keeping it simple, seriously.

So, let’s talk travel fashion. First and foremost, dress for the destination. If the place is 90ºF, don’t pack a parka. Similarly, if it’s 20ºF, don’t plan on wearing shorts much. Overall, exercise as much common sense as you can. Secondly, try your best to look like a native or expat, trust me, it helps. Thus, let’s dissect this photo taken in Copenhagen. We can break it down to travel fashion essentials:

  1. Neutrals! Greyscale fashion is super hot right now, so take that with you! Creams, maroons, navies, black, grey and brown (classic colors) are always in style all around the world. Keep the tourists guessing if you’re a local or not.
  2. Easy clothes! Comfort is everything, especially abroad, but make sure that the clothes you take are easy to maintain, like jeans and collared shirts. You don’t need to wash them after each wear, and the look is very nondescript chic.
  3. Be prepared! Even though it’s summer somewhere, that doesn’t guarantee a heat wave. Make sure you take something light to throw over your look, like that fashionable striped sweater!
  4. Go mini! Take a look at that bag. It’s manageable, easy, fashionable, and safe. Stay away from pick pockets, and go mini! I admit, I love to buy things and I carry totes, but I make sure to always have a zippered tote.

For men? Same look. Shirts and jeans, that’s all you need. Want to dress the looks up? Keep it in the shoes! A great pair of heels takes a neutral look from sightseeing to let’s party! (on that note, check out our previous post about the importance of shoes!). Guys, a nice pair of dress shoes or a blazer will take your look from lunch to fancy dinner with minimal effort.

Tip: Keep the makeup and skincare simple too–I normally take everything just in case, but guess what, I only use maybe 10% of what I bring.

Another makeup tip: Try the looks a few days before you go… It would be regrettable to bring a new piece of skincare or makeup that you end up having a reaction to. Wasted space, tsk, tsk.

Getting ready to take a vacation or want to? Stock up on all of your travel fashion essentials with Dose.nyc! Score the fashion you want for the prices you want, so gain access to our exclusive sales for free today! Designer brands, your style, your price, your win! Have more travel tips/essentials? Let me know and comment below!

Photo source: style.com

Leave a comment